How the Chinese Swimming Club Penang was formed

  • Established in 1928 by a group of swimming enthusiasts and dedicated trainers, the Club had a simple but noble aim of promoting swimming, water polo and life-saving in catering to the needs of the local Chinese community.
  • With a rented property along the coast of Tanjung Bungah, the first clubhouse was formed. The beach and the sea became an active training ground for budding athletes. After the Second World War, in 1952, the Chinese Swimming Club Properties Ltd. was formed to raise funds and finance the purchase of land and building of the Olympic sized pool and a two-storey clubhouse.
  • Since its inception, CSC has nurtured countless sporting talents, many of whom had opportunities to represent Malaysia on the international sporting front. We cherish the heritage of Chinese Swimming Club, Penang.
  • From the infamous salt water pool, the dedicated coaches and the friendly smiles of staff members, this facility had been the place where many Penangnites first learnt how to swim. This is also where the spirit of healthy sportsmanship was first instilled amongst us.
  • Through the spirit, determination and courage of the founding members who unselfishly gave their effort, time and resources, Chinese Swimming Club, Penang established itself till today. We, of the current generation, shall carry forth the vision of our Club’s founding fathers hoping to transform Chinese Swimming Club into Penang’s premier family and sporting club.

Our Principal Donors

Heah Joo Siang JP

Yeap Hock Hoe

Lee Guat Cheow

Khaw Gim Leong

Saw Choo Theng

Loh Boon Siew

Tan Boon Peng

Ng Kam Leong


Past and Current Presidents

Khoo Sian Ewe Esqr.

Patron and First President (1928-1931)

Choong Lye Hin Esqr.

Patron and 2nd President (1932-1933)

Lim Cheng Ean

Patron and 3rd President (1934-1937)

Cheah Inn Kiong Esqr

4th President (1938-1941)

Chee Tiang Seng Esqr

5th President (1945-1946)

Dr. C.H. Yeang

6th President (1947-1950)

Heah Joo Siang J.P

7th President (1951-1958)

Dato Saw Choo Theng DSPM, DJN, AMN

8th President (1959-1980)

Dato Ong Kim Seng DSPM, DJN, AMN, PJK, PKT

9th President (1980-1984)

Ooi Kim Kheng AMN, PPN, PJK

10th President (1984-1985)

Wong Sik Bee

11th President (1985-1989)

Chan Kim Leong

12th President (1989-1992)

Mrs. Khoo Choo Poon

13th President (1992-1994)

Teh Theam Seng PJK

14th President (1994-1996)

Tan Hock Soon PJK

15th President (1996-1998)

Khoo Soo Hay PJK

16th President (1998-2002)

Teh Theam Seng PJK

17th President (2002-2004)

Khoo Soo Hay PJK

18th President (2005-2006)

Lee Hock Chuan

19th President (2006 – 2008)

Dato Lye Siew Weng DSPN, KMN, DJN, PJK

20th President (2009 – 2018)